For Journalists

Music Publicity
Phone: 812-855-9846
E-mail: musicpub[at]indiana [dot] edu

Melody Eotvos

Adjunct Lecturer in Music (Music in General Studies)

Contact Information:

Music Addition, MA162

  • D.M., Indiana University , 2014
  • M.A., University of Queensland , 2009
  • M.Mus., Royal Academy of Music, 2008
  • B.Mus., Queensland Conseratorium of Music Griffith University, 2006

Melody Eötvös is adjunct lecturer in music in general studies at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.

Born in 1984, she is a Bloomington, Ind.,-based Australian composer whose work draws on both multimedia and traditional instrumental contexts, as well as substantial extra-musical references to a broad range of philosophical topics and late nineteenth-century literature.

She has studied with a variety of composers across the globe, including Gerardo Dirié (Australia), Simon Bainbridge (U.K.), and, most recently, Claude Baker and David Dzubay (Jacobs School of Music). She has studied electronic music with Jeffrey Hass, John Gibson, and Alicyn Warren.

Eötvös has received various awards, including the 3MBS National Composers Award (Australia 2009), APRA PDA (Australia 2009), and Soundstream National Composer Award (2012). She has had her music performed by ensembles such as the London Sinfonietta, BBC Singers, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, and Australian String Quartet.

She has participated in several electronic music festivals, including SEAMUS 2011 (United States), Australasian Computer Music Conference 2012 (Australia), and International Computer Music Conference 2011 (New Zealand).

Current projects include a Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation Orchestral Commission administered by the League of American Orchestras, the EarShot Foundation (world premiere: Carnegie Hall, October 23, 2015), and working as a commissioned composer for the Synergy 40x40 project (Sydney, Australia) and a composer fellow at the Aspen Music Festival & School 2015.

Eötvös holds a Doctor of Music (2014) from the Jacobs School of Music and a Master of Music (2008) from the Royal Academy of Music, London, U.K.

Related Links