For Journalists

Music Publicity
Phone: 812-855-9846
E-mail: musicpub[at]indiana [dot] edu

Jeffrey Hass

Professor of Music (Composition); Director, Center for Electronic and Computer Music

Contact Information:
Musical Arts Center, MC204



  • D.M., Doctor of Music, Indiana University, 1989
  • M.A., Master of Arts, Rutgers State University, 1979
  • B.A., Bachelor of Arts, Vassar College, 1975

Jeffrey Hass composes music for electronics combined with large and small acoustic ensembles, video and dance. His current work involves design of interactive wireless sensor systems for performers and dancers. His music, dance and video works have been premiered at International Computer Music Conferences, SEAMUS, Australasian Computer Music Conference, Pixilerations, Spark Festival, American College Dance Festival, the World Dance Alliance and many more. He has also delivered papers at the New Interfaces in Musical Expression Conference, Toronto Electroacoustic Conference and several dance festivals.

Awards include ASCAP/Rudolph Nissim Award, National Band Association Competition, Walter Beeler Memorial Award, Lee Ettelson Composer's Award, United States Army Band's Composition Award, Heckscher Orchestral Award, Bogliasco Foundation Fellowship and the Utah Arts Festival Orchestral Commissioning Award. Recordings of his works have been released by the Indiana University Press, SEAMUS, Arizona University Recordings, Albany Records and RIAX Records. His works are published by

Magnetic Resonance Music, Ludwig Music Company and MMB Music Publishers.

Hass is a Fellow at the Indiana University Digital Arts and Humanities Institute. He is a former composition and theory instructor at Rutgers University and Interlochen Center for the Arts.

Related Links