For Journalists

Music Publicity
Phone: 812-855-9846
E-mail: musicpub[at]indiana [dot] edu

Michael Long

Professor of Music (Musicology)

Contact Information:
Simon Center, M225D



  • Ph.D., Doctor of Philosophy, Princeton University
  • M.F.A., Master of Fine Arts, Princeton University
  • B.A., Bachelor of Arts, Amherst College

Michael Long is professor of musicology at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. He received a B.A. from Amherst College and an M.F.A. and a Ph.D. from Princeton University.

In his research and teaching, he engages a range of subjects, periods, and approaches. Much of his writing has been devoted to European musical repertories of the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries.

Long received the Alfred Einstein Award of the American Musicological Society for his article "Symbol and Ritual in Josquin's Missa Di Dadi." Recent essays have investigated the artifacts of fourteenth-century music pedagogy and music as a metaphor within medieval discourses of financial ethics.

In his book, Beautiful Monsters: Imagining the Classic in Musical Media, Long brought his medievalist's perspective to another area of interest: twentieth-century musical vernaculars, including Hollywood film music and classic rock. Beautiful Monsters received the Otto Kinkeldey Award of the American Musicological Society (AMS) in 2009.

Among his current projects are essays on hearing and listening in the fifteenth century, the modern and postmodern reception of Guillaume de Machaut, and a book exploring film scoring and the visionary experience.

A recipient of the State University of New York Chancellor's Award for excellence in teaching, Long previously held the Ziegele Chair in Music Scholarship at the University at Buffalo, where he directed the musicology program. He has also been a member of the faculties of the University of Wisconsin and Columbia University, and a visiting professor at Harvard University, Cornell University, and the Eastman School of Music.

Long is an active member of the AMS, having served on its council, Einstein and Kinkeldey prize committees, and as program chair for the 2010 national meeting in Indianapolis.