Indiana University

News Release


Thursday, December 18, 2008

Met audition 2008 ‘star search’ begins at IU Jan. 10

Dec. 18, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University will host the state's auditions for the Metropolitan Opera National Council in the Musical Arts Center on Saturday, Jan. 10, at 1 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

Some previous winners of this elite competition, which identifies the best up-and-coming opera singers throughout the nation, are IU alumni Sylvia McNair (1982), Elizabeth Futral (1991), Angela Brown (1997) and Larry Brownlee (2001). Other well-known singers who were selected as past winners include Renée Fleming, Susan Graham, Thomas Hampson, Ben Heppner, Jessye Norman, Samuel Ramey, Frederica von Stade, Deborah Voigt and Dolora Zajick.

Judges for this year's competition are Timothy O'Leary, new general director of Opera Theatre of St. Louis; Jane Bunnell, mezzo-soprano; and Brian Zeger, artistic director of Juilliard, representing the Met.

With a total of 30 voice and opera studies faculty members, the Jacobs School of Music has the largest voice department in any university school of music. It has consistently been ranked as the top voice department in the country. The Jacobs School of Music Opera Theater Program produces seven fully-staged operas each year in the Musical Arts Center, which gives students an opportunity to train for the international world of opera.

The following Jacobs School alumni have won the Metropolitan Opera National Council Audition Competition since 1965:

For more information about the Jacobs School of Music, see

Web Version

IU News Room
530 E. Kirkwood Ave., Suite 201
Bloomington, IN 47408-4003