Indiana University

Browse By Topic


For Journalists

Music Publicity
Phone: 812-855-9846
E-mail: musicpub[at]indiana [dot] edu

Hurst and Starker receive distinguished awards from ASTA

Congratulations to Professor of Music Lawrence Hurst, chair of the department of strings, on his recent receipt of the 2005 American String Teachers Association (ASTA) with National School Orchestra Association (NSOA) Artist Teacher Award. This almost-annual award is presented to an artist/pedagogue of renowned stature from within North America.

The American String Teachers Association began presenting the Artist Teacher Award in 1959, though not every year.Since then, six string teachers from the Indiana University School of Music have received the award: Joseph Gingold, 1969; William Primrose, 1970; Janos Starker, 1988; Franco Gulli, 1997; Fritz Maag (posthumous), 1998; and Lawrence Hurst, 2005. We wonder if any other music school in the world celebrates more recipients.

Hurst began his professional career as principal bassist with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra. In 1964, he returned to his alma mater, the University of Michigan, to be a performer, clinician, and pedagogue. He has given workshops and master classes throughout the United States and Canada, Costa Rica, Beijing, Hong Kong, and Christchurch, New Zealand. Hurst has taught at Southern Methodist University, Eastern Michigan University, and the Interlochen Arts Academy in Interlochen, Michigan. He has served with the National Orchestral Institute as double bass coach at the University of Maryland and is frequently called by the New World Symphony in Miami Beach, FL, to give master classes for the orchestra's bass section. He has been professor of music and chair of the string department at Indiana University School of Music since 1986. Hurst served as interim associate dean of instruction for Indiana's School of Music during the 1997-98 academic year.

Congratulations are also in order for Distinguished Professor of Music Janos Starker, the recipient of the 2005 ASTA with NSOA Isaac Stern International Award. This award is presented occasionally to an artist teacher of renowned stature whose identity need not be primarily within the American scene.

The great virtuoso cellist and distinguished teacher Starker is recognized throughout the world as one of the supreme musicians of the 20th century. Hallmarks of his performances and classes, given over the course of an extraordinary career spanning more than five decades, include peerless technical mastery, intensely expressive playing, and great communicative power. These qualities, combined with rare musical intelligence, have made Starker the subject of hundreds of major news stories, magazine articles, and television documentaries, and his concerts have been broadcast around the globe on radio and television. Born in Budapest in 1924, Starker came to the United States in 1948 and, prior to resuming his solo career in 1958, he held the principal cello chairs in three American orchestras, including the Chicago Symphony under Reiner. During this period, having already won the Grand Prix du Disque in France for his Kodaly Unaccompanied Suite, Starker made his landmark recordings of the Bach Solo Suites for Mercury. These Bach suites, re-released on CD in November 1991, nearly 30 years after their first issue, immediately climbed to the top 10 in the American classical charts. His autobiography The World of Music According to Janos Starker was recently released on Indiana University Press.

Previous winners of the Isaac Stern International Award are: Mstislav Rostropovich, 2002; Kata Hava, 1992; Henryk Szeryng (posthumous), 1989; Nathan Milstein, 1987; Ilona Feher, 1986; Edward Melkus, 1985; Nannie Jamieson, 1984; Max Rostal, 1984; and Shinichi Suzuki, 1964.

Hurst and Starker are two more reasons that the IU School of Music has one of the best faculties in the world!