Indiana University

Browse By Topic


For Journalists

Music Publicity
Phone: 812-855-9846
E-mail: musicpub[at]indiana [dot] edu

Composer David Dzubay receives Guggenheim Fellowship

The Jacobs School of Music congratulates Professor David Dzubay, composer and chair of the composition department, who was recently named a 2007 Guggenheim Fellow.

The prestigious award is one of the most affirming research awards worldwide for artists, humanists, and scientists. Having known about the news for a few weeks prior to the public announcement, April 6, Dzubay had time to consider the impact it will make.

"I am thrilled to have been awarded a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation for 2007-2008," he said. "The fellowship will provide for a significant period of time devoted solely to the art of music composition. I plan to spend portions of the year at artist colonies such as MacDowell, Djerassi, and Yaddo, and some of the time in Bloomington.

"There are a number of projects I will work on," he continued, "including a composition for the Orion String Quartet, a chamber work for Dallas-based Voices of Change, possibly a ballet for a west coast company, and others. It is wonderful to have the support of Indiana University, Jacobs School Dean Gwyn Richards and my colleagues in the composition department, making it possible to take a leave of absence to accept this fellowship."

Three additional Guggenheim Fellows named this year are also from Indiana University: science historian Domenico Bertoloni-Meli, Near Eastern languages and cultures professor John Walbridge, and sociologist Pamela Barnhouse Walters.

Guggenheim awards have previously been awarded to nine Jacobs School of Music faculty members: Claude Baker, A. Peter Brown, George J. Buelow, Don Freund, Bernhard Heiden, Thomas J. Mathiesen, Eugene O'Brien, Juan Orrego-Salas, and Hans Tischler.

The total Guggenheim Fellows at Indiana University to date amount to 123. At least one IU faculty member has earned a Guggenheim fellowship each year since 1998.

David Dzubay was born in 1964 in Minneapolis, MN, grew up in Portland, OR, and earned a D.M. in Composition at Indiana University in 1991. Additional study was undertaken as a Koussevitzky Fellow in Composition at the Tanglewood Music Center (1990), the June in Buffalo Festival, and as co-principal trumpet of the National Repertory Orchestra in Colorado (1988-1989). His principal teachers have been Donald Erb, Frederick Fox, Eugene O'Brien, Lukas Foss, Allan Dean, and Bernard Adelstein.

Dzubay's music has been performed in the U.S., Europe, Canada, Mexico, and Asia, by ensembles including the symphony orchestras of Aspen, Atlanta, Baltimore, Cincinnati, Detroit, Honolulu, Kansas City, Louisville, Memphis, Minnesota, Oregon, Oakland, St. Louis and Vancouver; the American Composers Orchestra, National Symphonies of Ireland and Mexico, New World Symphony, National Repertory Orchestra and New York Youth Symphony; and ensembles including Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (Montreal), Onix (Mexico), Manhattan Brass, Voices of Change (Dallas), the Alexander and Orion String Quartets, the League/ISCM, Earplay and the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players. His music has been championed by soloists including Christine Schadeberg, Thomas Robertello, Corey Cerovsek, Carter Enyeart, James Campbell, Eric Nestler and David Starobin, and conductors including James DePreist, George Hanson, David Loebel, Michael Morgan, Eiji Oue, Richard Pittman, Lawrence Leighton Smith, Carl Topilow, David Wiley, Samuel Wong, Kirk Trevor and David Zinman. His music is published by Pro Nova Music, Dorn, and Thompson Edition and is recorded on the Centaur, Innova, Crystal, Klavier, Gia, First Edition and Indiana University labels.

Recent honors include the 2005 Utah Arts Festival Commission (Utah Symphony), the 2005 Columbia Orchestra American Composers Competition, the 2004 William Revelli Memorial Prize from the National Band Association, the 2003 Commission from the Metropolitan Wind Symphony, the 2001 Walter Beeler Memorial Prize, the 2000 Wayne Peterson Prize, and a grant from the Aaron Copland Fund for Music for the Voices of Change recording of the first all-Dzubay CD (innova 588). Dzubay has also received awards from the NEA (1992-1993), BMI (1987, 1988), ASCAP (1988, 1989, 1990), the American Music Center, Composers, Inc., Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, Indiana State University, Indiana University (including the "Outstanding Junior Faculty Award"), the Tanglewood Music Center, and the Cincinnati Symphony.

Dzubay was previously on the faculty of the University of North Texas in Denton. Dzubay has conducted at the Tanglewood, Aspen, and June in Buffalo festivals. He has also conducted the Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble, the Greater Dallas Youth Symphony Orchestra, Music from China, Voices of Change, an ensemble from the Minnesota Orchestra, the Kentuckiana Brass and Percussion Ensemble and strings from the Louisville Orchestra at the Maple Mount Music Festival. From 1995 to 1998 he served as Composer-Consultant to the Minnesota Orchestra, helping direct their "Perfect-Pitch" reading sessions, and during 2005-2006 he was Meet the Composer/American Symphony Orchestra League Music Alive Composer-in-Residence with the Green Bay Symphony Orchestra.