For Journalists

Music Publicity
Phone: 812-855-9846
E-mail: musicpub[at]indiana [dot] edu

Andrew Mead

Professor of Music (Music Theory)

Contact Information:
Simon Center, M325K


Music Theory


Andrew Mead is professor of music theory at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.

For the previous 30 years, he taught music theory at the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance and was chair of the Music Theory Department from 1995 to 2004.

He holds degrees from Yale and Princeton Universities and has published articles on a variety of topics, including the music of Milton Babbitt, Elliott Carter, Arnold Schoenberg, and Anton Webern as well as on abstract 12-tone theory and rhythmic theory.

His works have appeared in Music Theory SpectrumPerspectives of New MusicThe Journal of Music TheoryTheory and Practice, and elsewhere. His book, An Introduction to the Music of Milton Babbitt, is published by Princeton University Press, and he helped edit The Collected Essays of Milton Babbitt, also published by Princeton. He is a recipient of the Young Scholar Publications Award from the Society of Music Theory.

Mead is also active as a composer and has received the Goddard Lieberson Fellowship from the American Institute/Academy of Arts and Letters. Recent music includes saxophone quartets for PRISM and the Larry Teal Saxophone Quartet, a song cycle for Jennifer Goltz and Brave New Works on texts by Amy Clampitt, and works written for saxophonists Timothy McAllister and Brian Sacawa.